Untitled (Goodbye)

Standard

“Wow. I never thought we’d get this far,” she said. “I had doubts when we were starting off, but now it all makes sense. All those things we had to go through. All the pain, suffering, tragedy. I know now why all of that was worth it. Why all of it was necessary. Why it has to be like this.”

“I promise that we’ll be happy,” she continued. “I promise you that we’ll always be together. Nothing will ever tear us apart, okay? Trust me when I say that nothing will ever keep us from being together. Not even this.”

I look at her in terror. My vision blurs. Every single part of me feels cold as ice, as if I was suddenly submerged in freezing water. My eyes drifted toward the knife she had put in my gut. I feel my teardrops slowly crawling down my face.

She pulls out the knife, and proceeds to slit her own wrists.

“Goodbye,” she says. “For now.” And kisses me on the cheek as I feel my last breath escape from my lungs.

Goodbye, I thought.

 

Wooo. So this is my first time to try speedwriting on an open FB group called Spitwrite. I discovered it through a friend, and I actually really like it. It was pretty fun. The topic that was assigned was “This isn’t the end, but you can see it from here” (which funnily enough was assigned by the same friend who introduced me to the group) and I wrote this piece in 7 minutes and 29 seconds. Well it was pretty fun, and it was a good way for me to start writing for myself again after almost a month without writing anything that wasn’t related to academics. Welp.

If you wanna join Spitwrite, here’s the group link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/200298973504338/

 

One thought on “Untitled (Goodbye)

  1. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to
    this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your
    RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will
    share this site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

